Dhaka Division

Dhaka Division  with an area of 31119.97 sq km, is bounded by Meghalaya state of India on the north, barisal and chittagong divisions on the south, sylhet and Chittagong Divisions on the east, rajshahi and khulna divisions on the west. Main rivers are padma, jamuna, meghna, old brahmaputra, dhaleshwari, shitalakshya, brahmaputra, buriganga, arial khan. Madhupur and Bhawal Garhs are located to the northern parts of Dhaka, in Gazipur, southern part of Mymensingh and eastern part of Tangail districts; Garo hills are located in Mymensingh district.
Dhaka (Town) stands on the bank of the river Buriganga. It consists of seven principal thanas (Dhanmondi, Kotwali, Motijheel, Ramna, Mohammadpur, Sutrapur and Tejgaon) and 14 auxiliary thanas (Gulshan, Lalbagh, Mirpur, Pallabi Sabujbagh, Cantonment, Demra, Hazaribagh, Shyampur, Badda, Kafrul, Kamrangir Char, Khilgaon and Uttara), 148 wards and 824 mohalla. It has an area of 304 sq km. The town has a population of 99,12,908 (2001); male 55.24%, female 44.76%; population density per sq km 32608. Literacy rate among the town people is 62.3%.
Administration Dhaka division consists of one city corporation, 17 districts, 58 municipalities, 21 thanas, 119 upazilas, 1239 union parishads, 12765 mouzas, 549 wards, 1623 mahallas and 25244 villages. The districts are Dhaka, Gazipur, Narsingdi, Manikganj, Munshiganj, Narayanganj, Mymensingh, Sherpur, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Kishoreganj, Tangail, Faridpur, Maradipur, Shariatpur, Rajbari and Gopalganj.
Population 38678000 (2000); male 51.63%, female 48.37%; Muslim 89.51%; Hindu 9.64%, Christian 0.5%, Buddhist 0.03% and others 0.32%.
Religious institutions Mosque 44501, temple 5065, church 234, tomb 292 and pagoda 11.
Literacy and educational institutions Average literacy 33.05%; male 39.8% and female 26.5%. Educational institutions: public university 10, private university 15, government medical college 5, private medical college 14, technical training college 22, teacher's training college 18, government college 85, non-government college 438, law college 8, government high school 118, non-government high school 2552, junior high school 388, madrasa 2538, government primary school 8952, non-government primary school 5031, agricultural training institute 1, scout training centre 1, polytechnic institute 3, music school 28, satellite school 292 and kindergarten 362.
Main occupations Agriculture 38.63%, agricultural labourer 15.93%, wage labourer 2.75%, weaving 3.75%, industrial labourer 1.93%, commerce 10.75%, service 7.78%, construction 1.42%, house renting out 2.23%, transport 0.42%, fishing 11.99% and others 2.42%.
Main crops Paddy, jute, wheat, potato, ground nut, onion, garlic, chilly, various kinds of pulse, sugarcane and vegetables.
Main fruits Mango, jackfruit, papaya, pineapple, guava, watermelon, coconut and banana.
Health centres Government hospital 44, private hospital and clinic 1072, upazila health complex 119, child and maternity welfare centre 278, satellite clinic 805, family planning centre 705, diabetic centre 7, national heart foundation 1, mission hospital 5, veterinary hospital 129.